RSS

The Adventure of Defeating Fear

05 Aug

Well, the last several days, I’ve been having quite the adventure. I’ve been cleaning out closets! What?! Closets?? Have you ever cleaned out the closet of a little girl who likes to play dress up? She also likes to put whatever miscellaneous clothes into a pile and pretend she’s a mother bird with her nest! I’ve been avoiding this for about three years. Talk about Defeating Fear Forever!  Trust me, I went into my seven-year-old daughter’s closet with much fear and trembling. I came out of said closet several days later with about five or six (or fifteen!) garbage bags of clothes to give away (and several bags of trash as well). It wasn’t pretty, (Well some of the clothes really are. She likes pink.), but it had to be done.

Then, I decided to tackle the next closet, my almost twelve-year-old daughter’s closet.  Believe it or not, she isn’t nearly as messy. That one took only a couple of days and we emerged together with three bags of clothes to give away and only one bag of trash. I was impressed.

Why am I labeling this an adventure, you might ask. Well, I’ve learned that in order to make anything more bearable, you need to make it fun. So, we’ve been having fun and cleaning and thinking about just how much we’ve been blessed over the years. It’s also been interesting in asking the Lord for help in how to best organize stuff so that it stays neat. So far, the littlest one is doing very well keeping her clothes put away neatly. She likes it.

Yes, this post is a bit tongue in cheek. I mean, how scary can cleaning out a closet really be? Some fears are much worse, but life is an adventure and part of that is facing those things that you would rather not and realizing that you are not alone in dealing with them. Just as my Lord wants to help me in cleaning out and organizing closets (and other parts of my home), He wants to walk with me (and you too!) through situations and circumstances that are much more scary. In learning to lean on the Lord, we are made strong. We realize how special we are to God and that He wants to be a part of even the most mundane parts of our lives.

God loves me and He loves you too. He wants to help us both fight and conquer whatever dragons, dungeons, or disasters we have to face–even scary closets! He goes with us through the fire. “Sometimes God doesn’t calm the storm, He just calms His child,”  (quoted from the book, The Holy Spirit, published by Pentecostal Publishing House). There is a peace that passes all understanding. You or I may not like the situation we’re facing right now, but we don’t have to face it alone. God has a purpose and a plan for you and me.

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart. Lean not on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him and He will make your paths straight,” Proverbs 3:5-6. When we surrender control of our lives to Him and follow His leading, we’re much happier, much more peaceful, and so much less fearful. That’s a better way to live. In fact, that’s REAL living!

Now, onto my next closet…

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 5, 2011 in encouraging posts, Humor

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
