RSS

Be Real

26 Aug

Jesus loves you. We hear that statement a lot, but how often do we take the time to actually think about it? I mean, I know Jesus loves me, but do I realize that He loves the real me, or the me that I try to be? Think about that for a moment.

In my journey in learning how to trust God more and more with absolutely every aspect of my life, the Lord showed me that He can handle even my failures. On the one hand, that should be a bit of a ‘duh’ statement. On the other hand, how often do we think, ‘Oh no, I’ve really blown it now. I’ve ruined everything!’ Yes, we all make mistakes, but God knows that and we cannot thwart Him. We can’t mess Him up no matter how hard we might even try to. He has a purpose and a plan for our lives that is great. Jeremiah 29:11 says, “‘For I know what plans I have in mind for you,’ says the Lord, ‘plans for well-being, not for bad things; so that you can have hope and  a future.'”

One of my biggest struggles is in trying to control things. I like to plan. Planning is not necessarily bad. However, I can’t plan everything, such as when a child is born or when someone gets sick or other surprises of life. I need to trust the Lord first, plan second. I need to give Him control and seek His guidance and plan accordingly. Jeremiah 29:12-13 says, “When you call to me and pray to me, I will listen to you. When you seek me, you will find me, provided you seek for me wholeheartedly.” The Lord is absolutely trustworthy. He knows what He’s doing and nothing surprises Him, ever. If we will trust Him and seek after Him with everything we’ve got, He will listen to us. He will bless us and He will give us a hope and a future.

Psalm 37:4 says, “Delight yourself in the Lord, and He will give you the desires of your heart.” We all have dreams and desires. When we choose to trust God and seek after Him, delighting our lives with Him, He will bless us with the desires of our hearts. Our dreams will come true. In fact, He will bless us beyond our wildest dreams.

Don’t be afraid to be real. God can handle reality. In fact, He wants you to be real. When we stop trying to be the person we think everyone expects us to be and start being real, we are set free to become what the Lord intended for us. We are set free to dream. We are also set free to minister to others and to touch and change lives.

Jesus has a purpose and a plan for your life. Don’t be afraid to dream. Seek the Lord and see that He is good. Share your dreams with Him. Seek Him and see what His dreams are for you. I promise, God’s dreams for you are amazing beyond anything you can even imagine!

I’d love to hear some of the amazing things that God has done in your life. Please feel free to share!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 26, 2011 in encouraging posts

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
