RSS

A Gift for You!

24 Feb

M90 PicThis year my children and I are studying the book of Proverbs and other wisdom writings in the Bible. M90 is a challenge to memorize only 90 of those verses (and each is powerful!). In taking the time to study out each proverb in greater detail, I have been so blessed and I wanted to pass the blessing along to you!

Here is the M90 booklet: M90_StudentGuide

You can memorize these in 90 days or take longer or shorter. Each page has an explanation and questions for reflection.

One thing I learned today was from Prov 2:11 “Discretion shall preserve thee, understanding shall keep thee:”

I always thought of discretion as not revealing private information to others, but that is only half the definition. The first half is ‘the quality of behaving or speaking in such a way as to avoid causing offense.’

What’s the one part of our person that gets us into the most trouble? Our mouths and our attitudes (which comes out in our behaviors)!

Another thing I learned in studying Proverbs is from commentator, Daniel Segraves. In his book Ancient Wisdom for Today’s World, A Commentary on the Book of Proverbs, he says, “The English word wisdom is the translation of several Hebrew words in the Book of Proverbs; the most common is ‘hokmah.’ This word speaks of the skill with which craftsmen, sailors, singers, mourners, administrators, and counselors perform their duties. Thus, being wise means ‘being skilled in godly living.’ Having God’s wisdom means having the ability to cope with life in a God-honoring way.” (John F. Walvoord and Roy B. Zuck, eds., The Bible Knowledge Commentary (Wheaton, Ill.: Victor Books, 1985), OT: 902.)

Isn’t it wonderful that God makes wisdom available to us through His Word? As we take the time to daily ‘…receive my words, and hide my commandments with thee; So that thou incline thine ear unto wisdom, and apply thine heart to understanding.’ Prov 2:1-2, we have the promise that, ‘Then shalt thou understand the fear of the Lord, and find the knowledge of God.’ Proverbs 2:5. We have to purpose in ourselves to receive and to hide or guard God’s words and commandments.

Our Lord wants to give us wisdom. His Word says so, ‘For the Lord giveth wisdom: out of his mouth cometh knowledge and understanding.’ Proverbs 2:6.

If you want to grow in wisdom, you can. It’s all there available to you. You simply need to be open ‘to receive the instruction of wisdom,’ Prov 1:3. I especially love Prov 1:6 ‘To understand a proverb and the interpretation; the words of the wise and their dark sayings.’ If you want it, you can have the ability to understand a proverb AND the interpretation. You can ‘get it!’

Pastor LoCascio preached this past Sunday on What Do You Expect?

I expect to believe what God’s Word says and apply it to my life. I expect to receive wisdom and become skilled at living God’s way rather than my own. I don’t need to live a stressed out, frustrated life. I can live God’s way, taking on His burden (which is light) and His yoke (which is easy), instead of trying to carry the weight of the world on my shoulders (of which I do a very poor job!).

I’m excited about what God is doing in my cities (Chicagoland), my church, my family, and my life and I can’t wait to see what He does next.

Download that free booklet above and see what the Lord wants to teach you, show you, and bless you with. 🙂

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 24, 2015 in Author in the Trenches

 

One response to “A Gift for You!

  1. nwatrud

    February 24, 2015 at 3:54 pm

    Thank you!!! I have been trying to figure out what to memorize. This gives me a good place to start.

     

Leave a Reply

 
