RSS

Jehovah–Shammah–God Who Is Here

01 Mar

Psalm 23:4 “Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me.”

I’m so glad our Lord talks to His children. Recently, Jesus has been speaking to me about the fact that He is always right here, not just always available, but actually, right HERE with me (and you!). “for thou art with me…”

My dictionary app says the definition of a colon is ‘that a writer is separating two clauses of which the second expands or illustrates the first.’ “I will fear no evil: for thou art with me…” Another way of understanding the colon is that it answers the question ‘Why? Because…’ “I will fear no evil: [Why? Because] thou art with me…”

One of the names or titles God has for Himself is Jehovah-Shammah—Jehovah is there. According to Charles Spurgeon, in his New Year sermon in 1891 on the text in Ezekiel 48:35 “It was round about eighteen thousand measures: and the name of the city from that day shall be, The LORD is there.” declaring: “It is esteemed by the prophet to be the highest blessing that could come upon a city that its name should be, JEHOVAH-SHAMMAH, The Lord is there,” (wiki https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jehovah-shammah).

This is so powerful. John 7:38-39 “He that believeth on me, as the scripture hath said, out of his belly shall flow rivers of living water. (But this spake he of the Spirit, which they that believe on him should receive: for the Holy Ghost was not yet given; because that Jesus was not yet glorified.)” Acts 2:17 “And it shall come to pass in the last days, saith God, I will pour out of my Spirit upon all flesh: and your sons and your daughters shall prophesy, and your young men shall see visions, and your old men shall dream dreams:” (v38-39) “Then Peter said unto them, Repent, and be baptized every one of you in the name of Jesus Christ for the remission of sins, and ye shall receive the gift of the Holy Ghost. For the promise is unto you, and to your children, and to all that are afar off, even as many as the LORD our God shall call.”

Jehovah is not just in a city. He is not a god who is over there somewhere. He is the God who is right HERE! He is the God who has come to be IN YOU, just as He promised. Jesus truly is Jehovah-Shammah, God who is Here. He isn’t just with you, He is in you. He is right Here, right next to you. 

Jesus has offered to give YOU His highest blessing—to be your Jehovah-Shammah. Wow!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 1, 2016 in encouraging posts

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
